The Folsom Cordova Unified School District has announced that the district’s Communication and Community Engagement team was recently presented four different awards from California School Public Relations Association (CalSPRA).


CalSPRA is a nationally-recognized organization of education public relations professionals, administrators, and school personnel who have a full- or part-time responsibility for communications. Our organization is working to create a climate for better public understanding, commitment, and support of public education.

Members of the district staff and leadership recently returned from the annual CalSPRA conference where it was announced they earned the following accolades:


Award of Excellence: CTE Ribbon Cutting Event

Award of Merit: FCUSD School Funding Form


Award of Merit: Superintendent’s Press Release


Award of Merit: Video: “Join Folsom Cordova USD!”

District Superintendent Sarah Koligian, Ed.D. led the way at the conference. According to a district social media post, Koligian collaborated with EL Dorado County Superintendent of Schools Ed Manansala, Ed.D. as well as David Vannasdall, and Tom DeLapp, APR, to share best methods for strengthening communication practices.


Communications Director Angela Griffin Ankhelyi, MBA, APR, had the honor to speak on Strategic Partnership Development, and participate on a panel with Raj Rai of the San Juan Unified School District, and Sundeep Dosanjh of Rocklin Unified School District, the panel was moderated by Michelle Eklund, of the Placer County Office of Education on crisis and incident response.

“We’re FCUSD proud to be honored among California’s best K-12 communications professionals working towards better public understanding, commitment and support of education,” reads a statement posted by the FCUSD. “Thank you, CalSPRA and industry leaders, for your support of public education.”

Folsom Times -Local News Starts Here! Keep up with our daily news by following us on Facebook by clicking HERE.

© Copyright Folsom Times, All Town Media LLC