Landon Brooks has shown tremendous consistency over the last few years at Placerville Speedway, even though a victory had eluded his grasp on the red clay. 

That all changed Saturday night however, when the 19-year-old raced to an impressive $5,000 triumph at the 18thannual Mark Forni Classic. 


The big win for Brooks came aboard the Tiner-Hirst Enterprise/ Kraft Builders/ Larry Davis Farms No. 94x and marked his second career Winged Sprint Car victory. Team co-owner Kyle Hirst, a three-time SCCT champion, also captured the Mark Forni Classic during its inaugural running in 2006.  

Sharing victory lane on Saturday were Diamond Springs’ Dan Jinkerson with the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks, Diamond Springs’ Wyatt Lakin in the Mini Trucks and Waterford’s Dakota Albright with the BCRA Lightning Sprints. 


The 25-lap Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged Sprint Car feature began with Hollister’s Ryan Bernal setting the early pace. Caution flags slowed the flow over the first half of the contest, but Bernal hung tough up front. Roseville’s Colby Copeland began to stalk him however, and when Bernal got bound up in turn two on lap 13, he took advantage to snag the lead. 

A caution flag just after that created a double file restart, which saw Landon Brooks carve his way to the inside of Bernal to assume second. The Rio Oso, CA driver set the ADCO Driveline Fast Time earlier on but had to run the B-main after a DNF in his heat race. After winning the semi he charged from his ninth starting position to challenge Copeland for the top spot. 


Following the final restart of the night on lap 16, Brooks came after the leader and made the winning move with 18 laps complete. He went on to dominate the final seven circuits to cross under the Ron Stahl checkered flag. 


Copeland, point leader Michael Faccinto, Placerville’s Shane Hopkins and Modesto’s Tony Gomes rounded out the top-five. Action in the main event was entertaining from start to finish, with plenty of side-by-side racing taking place. 

Oakley’s Dylan Bloomfield put together the finest run in the main event with charge from 19th to sixth, with the remainder of the top-10 filled out by Bernal, Tanner Carrick, Luke Hayes and Andy Forsberg. A total of 29 Winged 360 Sprint Cars competed at the 18th running of the Forni Classic. 


Winged Sprint Car results: 1. 94X-Landon Brooks[9]; 2. 5V-Colby Copeland[3]; 3. X1-Michael Faccinto[2]; 4. 21-Shane Hopkins[8]; 5. 7C-Tony Gomes[10]; 6. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[19]; 7. 22-Ryan Bernal[1]; 8. 83T-Tanner Carrick[6]; 9. 9L-Luke Hayes[4]; 10. 92-Andy Forsberg[7]; 11. 33T-Jimmy Trulli[18]; 12. 37-Michael Pombo[14]; 13. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[15]; 14. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[5]; 15. 38-Colby Johnson[11]; 16. 93-Stephen Ingraham[17]; 17. 12J-John Clark[13]; 18. 94-Greg Decaires V[12]; 19. 42X-Justyn Cox[16]; 20. 5H-Josh Wiesz[20]

The always formidable Dan Jinkerson brought out the family No. 29 Pure Stock on Saturday and led all 20-laps in the feature. 

Jinkerson felt the heat early on from point leader Nick Baldwin, before brother Kevin Jinkerson grabbed the runner up spot around the midway point of the race. 

Kevin tried to find a way by brother Dan, but the “Diamond Springs Dynamite” held serve up front and claimed his 39th career Red Hawk Casino Pure Stock win at Placerville Speedway. Kevin crossed the stripe in second, followed Tyler Lightfoot, Baldwin and Kenny Bernstein. 

Pure Stock results: 1. 29-Dan Jinkerson[2]; 2. 30-Kevin Jinkerson[5]; 3. 23-Tyler Lightfoot[3]; 4. 17-Nick Baldwin[4]; 5. 43-Kenny Bernstein[8]; 6. 54-Vigna Anthony[7]; 7. 93-Mel Byers[9]; 8. 55-Micky Dangelo[1]; 9. 83-Ryan Peter[6]; 10. 1-Chris D’angelo[11]; 11. (DNS) 27-William Upton

With the Mini Truck division on Saturday, it was Wyatt Lakin who started on the pole and led throughout the 20-lap contest. 

Lakin paced the field but had a very fast Kevin Jinkerson keeping him honest over the duration of the main event. Lakin had battled truck problems the last couple seasons, but everything held strong on this night, and he raced to his fifth career victory at Placerville Speedway.

With the triumph he ties Austin Struthers for second on the all-time Mini Truck win list at the track. Jinkerson ended up second, followed by point leader Mike Miller, Michael Murphy and Paige Miller. 

Mini Truck results: 1. 04-Wyatt Lakin[1]; 2. 03-Kevin Jinkerson[3]; 3. 16-Mike Miller[4]; 4. 07-Michael Murphy[5]; 5. 21-Paige Miller[2]; 6. 7-Luke Costa[8]; 7. 28-Howard Miller[7]; 8. 65X-Brian Tremblay[11]; 9. 75-Brycen Bragg[13]; 10. 22-Nick Perkins[10]; 11. 08-Logan Lakin[12]; 12. 26-Paizlee Miller[6]; 13. 112-Thomas Jensen[9]; 14. 70-Austin Struthers[14]

Former BCRA Lightning Sprint champion Dakota Albright has become the man to beat at Placerville Speedway and that was on display once again. 

Going into Saturday’s Mark Forni Classic, Albright had captured all three of the series appearances at the track this year. Starting from the pole he led all 20-laps en route to win number four on the red clay in 2023. 

Colorado racer Chris Crowder put together a solid run in second, with Greg Deennett in third, Hunter Kinney fourth and Bradley Schmidt rounding out the top-five. The BCRA Lightning Sprints return in November as part of the annual Hangtown 100. 

BCRA Lightning Sprint results: 1. 35JR-Dakota Albright[1]; 2. 3F-Chris Crowder[3]; 3. 47-Greg Dennett[2]; 4. 25K-Hunter Kinney[7]; 5. 00-Bradley Schmidt[5]; 6. 21C-Zack Schmidt[9]; 7. 22-Jason Schostag[8]; 8. 21X-Bobby Michnowicz[4]; 9. 17F-Cody Meyer[6]

Placerville Speedway returns to action this coming Saturday August 5th with the annual Carnett Clash showcasing the Thompson’s Winged 360 Sprint Cars, the Anrak Late Models, Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks and Dwarf Cars. 

Thanks to the El Dorado County Fair Association parking will be free of charge during all events in August. Images courtesy of Devin M Photography and Tim Holland 

Gary Thomas
Author: Gary Thomas